CSGS Executive Committee Meeting November 14th, 2024 at 12pm CST / 1pm EST

Officers Present: Jon Hakkila (President, University of Alabama Huntsville), Mary Farmer-Kaiser (Past President, University of Louisiana at Lafayette), Troy Terry (President-elect, University of North Georgia), Julie Goodliffe (Secretary, University of North Carolina Charlotte), Peter Harries (Treasurer, North Carolina State University)

Executive Committee Members Present: Ruth Bahr (University of South Florida), Andre Denham (University of Alabama), Clay Gloster (North Carolina A&T University), Desi Hacker (Norfolk State University), Annette Kluck (University of Mississippi), John Lopes (Clemson University), Alan Itkin (Southern Methodist University), Sharon James McGee (East Tennessee State University), John Smith (Tougaloo College, ex-officio delegate of CHBGS President), Irene Aiken (University of North Carolina - Pemborke), Morris Grubbs (University of Kentucky).

1:05 EST called to order.

Minutes: approved as is.

The committee discussed the election results and its impact on our students and graduate education.

Breakout sessions:

Troy worked with Alan to figure out where sessions should be held based on potential interest. There were 19 proposals, several were combined together so that few sessions had to be rejected. The combinations were organic based on submission similarities or synergies. Troy will reach out to presenters to let them know their time slots, and make sure we have the titles and descriptions.

Logistics updates: Alan – meeting with the conference planners at SMU and Peter. Peter and SMU conference service people were going to reach out to transportation vendors. Peter may have an update.

Guidebook: Mary and John Lopes will meet on Monday.

Al and academic integrity – the committee discussed how different universities are dealing with this differently.

1:58 Adjourn